My Adventure

11145078_10209837637878523_2922627742059094570_o17903406_10154260936056401_5926046652310891747_n
IMG_3034IMG_3033 (1)

A couple weeks ago I took a trip to Mesa, Arizona for a family reunion for my mom’s side of the family. Most of my family, except for my mom and I, live in Arizona. I had not been to a family reunion since I was about 3 years old, so it was a very cool experience. I got to see close family, distant family, and even family I never knew existed. It was neat to see all the different generations that make up my family tree. I also got to learn about my great grandma and grandpa and where they came from. My great Grandparents both immigrated to the United States from different parts of Denmark when they were kids. My great grandparents met in the United States and got married in 1917. I loved looking at all the old pictures of my great grandparents and pictures of my grandpa. It was weird to see younger pictures of my grandpa because I only never knew him as a white haired old man. I also learned I’m a daughter of the American Revolution. This means I am a woman who is directly descended from a person involved in the United States’ struggle for independence. Learning about my family history on my mom’s side of the family really opened my curiosity to learn about my dad’s side of the family. It is good to learn about your family history and culture; it makes up who you are. I’m really thinking about ordering the AncestryDNA kit from ancestry.com. This kit tells you your ethnic mix and allows you to discover distant relatives. They mail you a kit and you mail it back with a sample of your DNA. It seems really cool! It tells you the percentages of what countries your DNA originates from. My roommate and I are planning to do this adventure together.

Leave a Reply

