Choose Your Own Adventure

fabba8f92e4169d88259781814686a27

“Choose your own adventure” is the epitome of my life. Ever since I was little, I lived for adventure. I would often pack up a little Winnie the Pooh backpack and disappear into the woods for hours, rain or shine. Looking back I realize these were the moments that made me the person I am today. I’ve always struggled with finding my “thing”. Meaning my career of choice or my major. It was always dreaded being asked that question because although I have many interests, nothing seemed quite right, and believed me, I’ve tried a lot of different paths. Call me the Goldilocks of careers.

Today, at 25 years old I feel like I finally know myself. I often go on adventures. I enjoy hiking, kayaking, traveling, and I recently got SCUBA certified. I’ve always been obsessed with how nature works and the behavior of animals. Engrossed by sharks and whales in particular. Day dreaming of free diving with them.

I know, I’m crazy. My Mom isn’t happy about it either.

9e3a3e38ca935750a9cfbc38232a3361

Being out in nature, surrounded by earth’s wonders and animals gives me more joy than I could ever explain. I found myself wanting to preserve and share it with others, so I invested in a camera and enrolled in a photography class. Boy oh, boy did I fall in love! Photography to me is a creative outlet. The thought of picking up a camera gives me butterflies. I’ve always been creative, but photography allows me to combine my creativity with my curiosity. Even more exciting than that, It allows me to preserve my adventures and share them with the people I love.

As I’m finishing up my journey at TCC, I am making plans to transfer to a University where I will major in Wildlife Biology and continue my journey as a photographer as well. This summer I plan to take my photography skills on the road, where I will improve my craft out in the wild. I don’t know where this path will take me, but I do know it feels right within my soul.

Besides, not knowing is half the fun. Just enjoy the adventure.

5 comments

  1. You strike me as an adrenaline junky. Which is great because I have always seeked that type of thrill. I have always wanted to go scuba diving but never have. I do believe it is on the top of my bucket list. I like that you do photography for creative venture. I use to create short films when i was younger, which actually sucked, but i just enjoyed making them.

    Like

  2. I can somewhat relate to to knowing which career path to take. For a while, I was totally unsure of what I wanted because I too have varying interest that hardly correlate to each other. As a child, I would go camping with my dad and those were some of my best memories- out in the woods without technology. Just hanging out in nature. It sounds to me like you have found a career that satisfies your interests very well. I am sure you will go very far! I wish you the best of luck as you continue on your adventure.

    Like

  3. I loved reading your adventure. You are such a free spirit and love the adventure of life and nature. It’s inspiring to me because I see some of that in me but I also have to afraid factor. I was a little sheltered and never traveled. So I envy that characteristic about you. I say go for it! You are young and will regret going out there and experiencing your loves of the world. To me being a Marine Biologist sounds like a job that you could always get up and go to everyday and enjoy. There is no better time than the present. Being in touch with nature and helping our animals is incomparable to anything else in the world. I hope to travel and experience some of those things as well one day. Enjoy and be free!

    Like

    • I can relate to being sheltered and not traveling much, although I grew up playing outside. I was always taught to be afraid of what’s out there. Still, to this day I can’t do anything without my family listing off all the things that could go terribly wrong. I struggle with anxiety too. So anything I do is accompanied by sleepless nights or even panic attacks, worrying about what could happen. It amazes me that people see me as brave, to be honest with you. I suppose I’m more afraid of regretting the things I didn’t do at the end of my life.
      I’ve learned that doing the things you’re scared of is the only thing that can help you overcome fear entirely. It’s not easy, but it’s absolutely worth it. I hope you can find the courage to get out there too.

      Like

  4. Wow your adventure is totally fascinating to me I have always wanted to be the type of person to explore the wild but you are actually doing it and to be a photographer as well. I am intrigued I have been playing with the camera since I was in the 10th grade. Not doing wild life but I always would love to catch a person’s true images I also would do props and have them all pretty like they were in my very own private studio so to hear of someone having a love like that really caught my attention. Sometimes I think that Me myself is the jack of all trades as well I love to venture off into different things and love being crafty I can’t say I am too much of a nature person cause I grew up in the country but I am terrified of certain animals but good luck and enjoy your adventure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

