The Next Chapter

My next adventure will start fall of 2017- I will be a substitute teacher for the Arlington ISD. I am excited for this new and exciting change, but also a little nervous. When I was 16, I got my first job working for the Walgreens down the road. I would hardly say it was something I wanted but more forced upon me. My mom filled out my online application and told me I better get my but down there and talk to someone. Following her orders I went in, and was greeted by the store manager himself. Luckily they were very short staffed (I assumed) because he offered me a job on the spot, as long as my drug test came back clean… which it did. I worked my way thru the company, holding every job imaginable in the store when I finally became a certified pharmacy technician. This month, I have worked for Walgreens for 11 years- Walgreens has been the one constant thing in my life. Thru my teenage years, cars, apartments, marriage and having children of my own, I have depended on Walgreens financially. I really enjoy my job, the pay is good and my boss is very understanding and flexible with my schedule… which is always a bonus!  I always knew I wanted to be a teacher- I love kids, I love helping and feel so rewarded when I can educate and see that light bulb go off in a student’s head. When signing up for my fall classes I never thought about having field experience to sign up for my education classes. Needless to say I have no field experience and took this opportunity to fill out an application and become a substitute teacher. This is going to be a huge change for me and I am so excited for this adventure.

Leave a Reply

