Artwork

The artwork that I saw this week was at the Amon Carter Museum and is a photograph by Richard Avedon called “Petra Alvarado, factory worker, El Paso, Texas, on her Birthday, April 22, 1982”. I really liked this photograph because even though the woman is in the United States she still carries her traditions from her culture. When it is your birthday it is customary to pin money on your clothes for that day. Especially in smaller towns this is a very big traditions and people will give you a dollar or two, I remember during middle/high school I would see some of my latino friends do this at school and my American friends were always so confused as to why they did that. I am not too sure about where this tradition came from but this reminded me of several text that we read that even though they were “American” the latinos/Hispanic still carried their culture in their everyday lives. Being an immigrant causes you to be broken into two. On one hand you are trying to assimilate to the country that are currently in and trying to get accustomed to the holidays and traditions to fit in but you definitely never want to forget where you have come from. And I believe that is another reason why in the text when they talk about latinos, Hispanics or Spanish people feel the need to correct you and let you know exactly what they are. This really hits home because looking at me people just assume that I am Mexican and I tend to correct them and let them know I am Honduran. I came to the United States almost 17 years ago and even though I have not returned to Honduran since I have a lot of pride in my roots.p1985-28-14

One comment

  1. This is SUCH a neat picture and even more so because you relate so deeply and personally to it! And major kudos to you for knowing two languages and bearing two cultures — there is nothing easy about either of those. I can’t speak on colorism or anything resembling the concept in the Latinx communities simply because I am not, however, it’s always sad to me when people feel the need to be erasive toward or police any racialized identity. I get mistaken for Mexican a lot too because I’m Black with light skin and it’s beyond annoying when people think brown=Mexican. I’m glad to see that you’re proud to be Honduran – I hear it’s a beautiful country.

    Like

Leave a Reply

