Emotional Power of Art

anne_frank Anne Frank

Art is considered as works to be appreciated primarily for their beauty or emotional power. For this assignment I chose the emotional power of the Dallas Holocaust Museum.

I must say this museum is quite small, however it has a very powerful emotional feeling. When you first walk in, you will notice on the right hand side, there are thirteen memorial pillars along the wall. These pillars represent the number of Holocaust victims killed each year from 1933 to 1945. You will quickly observe that the size of the pillar for 1942 is substantially massive compared to the other twelve pillars. That is because nearly eighty percent of the Holocaust victims were dead by this year. Behind the pillars is a collage of photographs that include pictures of certain people, (Adolf Hitler and Anne Frank), concentration camps, or even disturbing photos of piles of innocent dead bodies.

As I walked through the Holocaust Museum, I was able to see objects and personal items that belonged to some of the victims. One particular object that stood out to me was a pair of socks. These socks weren’t just any regular pair socks. What made them unique is they were made out of human hair. The Jewish victims were stripped of what they had, and found creative ways to compromise. This caused me to stop, reflect and pray for the victims; I cannot even imagine the horrific conditions that the Jewish community had to endure.  At one of the concentration camps, families were literally separated by the hand of “The Angel of Death”; “Doctor” Josef Mengele. As families entered the concentration camp, The Angel of Death would sit on “his” throne and throw his whip to each member of the family. If you were lucky, death was to the left and a torturous life to the right. They killed and tortured men, women and children. Hideous experiments were performed on children without anesthesia.

At the end the museum, you will enter the beautiful memorial of the Holocaust victims. There are twelve pillars in the room that represent the well-known concentration camps in which victims suffered. They surround the symbolic final resting place of the millions of victims who lost their life in the Holocaust and have no grave anywhere. Many of the dead were stripped of their possessions, memories, and names and dumped in mass unmarked graves.
If you have not visited the Dallas Holocaust Museum, I would highly recommend that you do.  It was quite a learning and emotional experience for me. It made me think, “This is no different than the slavery of the African American.” The only difference is the color of skin. It makes you stop and think, could history repeat itself in our modern world?

4 comments

  1. Thank you for your post. I have also been to the Holocaust museum in Dallas. It was many many years ago, I had to do a research paper on the Holocaust and Anne Frank. I am not sure why I was interested in this horrific event and found myself extremely sad leaving the museum. It was very eye opening and makes you wonder why??? Why would someone do this to another human being and cause pain to another soul? I have to live with some answers I will never be satisfied with. I remember leaving the museum in tears. Great connection between that museum, and this class.

    Like

  2. Thank you for your post. I enjoyed reading it and now I have to go to the Museum and see this exhibit. I am more interested in relearning about this horrible event not than I was in my younger years. I didn’t really get all the details of this event and am very interested to hear about and see the history again. It is still crazy you are right to think about how they could be so cruel to another. We are more aware of such cruelty but we still have issues with people that are not like ourselves. I can’t believe they made socks out of human hair! That is amazing how they can come up with those ideas through all the turmoil they had to endure. I pray that we do not repeat history or any other horrible events and we can grow and learn how to appreciate and accept others differences.

    Like

  3. Thank you for your post! Visiting this Museum was a great idea. This museum can remind us that no matter how small, we can still be powerful like you mentioned. We have learned so much about this philosophy from all of our readings. We have read poems and stories about race, ethnicity, and what makes us different. We have learned to never judge, because we truly don’t know what others are going through. We are more alike than we think! This museum seems very intriguing and definitely relates to what we have learned about and does show the progress we have made since this time. I hope we can all learn to promote peace and love one another so we eliminate all chances of something like this ever happening in today’s modern world!

    Like

  4. Thank you for your post. I have not ever been to the Holocaust Museum, but my grandfather would tell me of the horrible things that he was told during this time. He was a Vietnam vet and WWII vet. For him to talk of just some of the minor things that he had to do or was made to witness, made me really think of the horrible treatment of not only the men and women but children of all ages. It really puts in perspective the things that we have today and truly how blessed we are to have what wee have.
    This makes me think of the way that the Arab – Americans have been treated since 9/11. Although they were not taken and put into camps or made to feel not human, they have been ridiculed and almost to feel as if they do not belong in America or their home state. Not a White but not a Black, they fall somewhere in the middle and are left to endure harsh treatments by Americans, Government and the Media.

    Like

Leave a Reply

