9/11 Tribute

911Tribute_936x4372

I have passed by the 9/11 Tribute Exhibit found at the Fort Worth Museum of Science and History over a dozen times- we have a membership pass there and I try to take the kids at least once a week for the great children activities. I am always preoccupied with juggling 3 children that I never really noticed the beautiful structure until this week. Right at the entrance of the museum stands “N-101, a full-façade panel that supported three floors (101-103) two stories above the center of the impact zone of the North Tower. The beam is comprised of three steel columns, bolted together, three stories tall and is the largest World Trade Center artifact in Texas. (fwmuseum.org)” I am embarrassed to say for the past year I have repeatedly walked past this huge structure that “weighs approximately 8,000 pounds and measures 36 feet high by 6 feet wide by 3 feet thick.”

We all remember the time and place we were when hearing about the 9/11 attack. I was in junior high at volleyball practice, the coaches all went into the office and turned on the huge televisions that were strapped down to those rolling carts. I remember seeing it on the news, seeing the adults crying- not really knowing what this meant at that age. I obviously had sympathy for the families and victims of this horrific event, but it did not feel the affect personally. I didn’t know anyone in New York and I was always taught to love everyone and treat everyone the same regardless of race or what you wore.  My heart breaks when reading things like “Them?” How can people be so cruel? It upsets me reading things like “Bomb them to the stone age.” or “Kill them all; let Allah sort them out.” I loved when she wrote “September 11 is not the product of fundamentalist Muslims—it is the product of madmen and fanatics.” I could not agree more, there are bad people everywhere- it doesn’t mean all people are bad. We should come together like Marti explained, “we must join hands and interlace them until their two hands are as one (Marti).”

This class has taught me to appreciate all people; not just the ones that look like me. It has opened my eyes to the good and the ugly and made me more aware of what kind of American I want to be.

 

 

“9/11 Tribute Exhibit.” Fort Wort Museum of Science and History. N.p., n.d. Web. 19 Apr. 2017.

4 comments

  1. I have never seen this sculpture before, however I rarely go to art museums or any type of museums so this is amazing to see a beautiful tribute to such a devastating tragedy. I barely remember that day, I was 4 about to turn 5 the next month and the only thing I really remember about that day is that my mom was getting ready for work and yelled at me to come to the room. She said “I know you don’t really understand this right now, but someday you will and I want you to be able to remember where you are when this happened.” I am very grateful that she wrote that memory in stone for me. Thank you for sharing this beautiful piece.

    Like

  2. Thank you for sharing that story and piece of art. I have been to the Fort Worth Museum of Science and History before but I don’t remember seeing this sculpture. I will for sure go there soon and look at this in person. That horrific event was one, like everyone else, thought about everyday after for months. I was at home with my one year old and just couldn’t believe what I was seeing. It didn’t seem real that it was actually happening. That was a knife that was wedged in between our communities here that we would see consequences for a long time. I agree when you like the way Marti said we should come together and not all people are bad just because there were bad people from a different country who did this.

    Like

  3. I really enjoyed your post! I feel like I have a difficulty connecting with heart because I don’t know how to relate or what the artist is trying to portray, but I feel like the 9/11 Tribute Exhibit would change that feeling for me. Reading your post made me think about what I was doing on that very day, as I will never forget. Looking at the picture of the beam feels all too real and brings back so many memories. We can learn so many valuable lessons from this and I like how you incorporated modern art on a subject we can all relate to! This art is relevant to all of us, and serves as a reminder that we all have something in common no matter our background! I really want to check this place out.

    Like

  4. What a powerful piece of art. I was extremely young (3 years old) when the 9/11 attack happened, but I still feel the effects of it today. The way the attack created new concerns of security, both local and international as well as the tensions between Muslim Americans and white Americans are still prevalent. I have been to the Fort Worth Museum of Science and History before, but have also not stopped to really take it all in. I am glad that there is art like this to serve as a reminder of what happened on that day not too long ago.

    Like

Leave a Reply

