Never Give up.

So, This is something that is personal to me and that I had to find my way through. I was 12, I had a step-mom who didn’t really like me. want me around and was jealous that I had a realationship with my Father.

I was powerless and had not voice. My father didn’t believe the things that I would tell him that my step mom and her horrible son were doing to me. I knew then at the age of 12 I was on my own and was going to have to find my way to get through all the abuse and verbal breakdown daily. My step mom told me “You are nothing but a little bitch. You will never amount to anything, have anyone to love you and you are a ugly girl. You need to know this, so you don’t have big dreams for yourself.”

Wow, I was 13 when she said all of this to me. I turned into a person that was secluded into my room, did my school work and pretty much had no friends bc my step brother made my life a living hell at school. At the age of 16, I chose to live with my Grandma to get away from my step mom and step brother. It was at this time that I started to get my Erotic power back. I finished school a year early, and went to a Technical college to get my MA license. Sadly, my step mom thought she could break me again by sending her son to the same school as me. For her, it was a fail because I knew at this time my potential and I continued to strive for the things she told me I could never attain. I graduated with honors. I bought my first home at the age of 24, I own my car and have another I am paying for. I may not have a man in my life at this time, but I am still young and I have been able to show myself that even though others may look at you and try hard to destroy you, break your spirit or make it impossible to reach all your dreams; they will only succeed if you let them win.

I am currently an LVN and am wound care certified. I am going to college to get my RN and then my BSN. In the end, hopefully 2-3 years, I will have my BSN and have my Associates in Chemistry. I will not give in to having no voice, I will continue to achieve all the things I want to and just know in my mind that my step moms jealousy or hate will not control me. I have a voice and I can speak, I will continue with the power I have been given and succeed in all life challenges ahead of me.

 

2 comments

  1. Hello, I am very proud that you were able to make the right choices in your life and not let your step family get in the way of your dreams, congratulations for having the strength to be the better person. I have not gone through anything similar but I can just imagine how difficult it must have been for you to hear what your step mother said to you, especially at a young age where the things she said could have lived with you all your life. When I was about 19, I did not have a high opinion of myself because a girl I have been dating for four years had left because I could not keep a steady job and told me that I was nothing. By this fall I am transferring to UNT to double major is Audiology and Audio Engineering and I find myself to be a little more successful than most people and am proud to say that I am going to be something because of how hard I push myself to be something.

    Like

  2. That is amazing that you are going to be able to be in a Double Major. People do not really understand sometime that the words they say to us can really make an impact in our lives. They may be negative or positive but either way, they can make or break a person sometimes. I was like you in wanting to prove that I was something and I would have the certifications or degrees behind my name to show that I did achieve something more than my Step Mom could have even in her life thought of.
    I am so happy for you and I know that you are doing so much better and feel better about who you are now, don’t let anyone take your spirit or pride from you. In the end, they will see what they thought could never happen, or so they thought.

    Like

Leave a Reply

