What it means to me to be an American.

I can go to any number of countries that are “Free”.  I could go to Japan, express my sexuality or express my indifference to authority or question the always questionable actions of my government. I can go to Canada and talk endlessly about my local sports team.  I can go to Germany and talk about immigrants and how they will somehow mutilate my way of life. I can go to India, wait, I don’t want to go there. I can go to France and have just as much inspiring conversation with great thinkers the list goes on and on and on and on. A multitude of choices that probably could offer as much entertainment, education, health care and several other means to care for its Citizens.

100 reasons to visit Japan!

japan.jpg

Canada

canada.png

I did not have to cross an ocean or river. I did not have to watch a family member drown or get blown to bits. I have not had to determine if an action that would lead to the death of others was the right one. I have not had to quarrel with my neighbor about where my religious belief lies and which god is the true god. I can with confidence go to the grocery store and buy whatever I want, I can pick a movie at whatever time I want.  I can drive whatever car I want if I can afford it. I can date whoever I want if its mutual.

Refugees

Refugees.jpg

 

To me being an American means that I have been sheltered, protected from those that wish to kill us Americans. I am guaranteed that if any country physically invades us they will be dealt with. I am promised that there are men and women whose sole responsibility is to keep our weak, our poor our malnourished our bigoted our racists and hate filled countrymen protected. They are also sworn to keep our innocent, our children, our artists our musicians our most gifted and talented protected.

Mission and values

marines-capitol-428x285.jpg

 

To me being an American means I have choices, I have the choice to work or not work. I am rewarded or punished for the choices I make.  I am born into a country of hypocrisy, of promises that are never delivered. I am at times ashamed to be an American but most of the time proud.

 

Image of Japan-https://www.anthonytravel.com/illinois-wesleyan-tour/

Canadian flag-https://twitter.com/canada

Refugees -http://www.huffingtonpost.com/shaikh-m-tawhidi/the-refugee-crisis-why-muslims-flee-from-islamic-governments_b_8931588.html

Marines-http://www.military.com/join-armed-forces/marine-corps-mission-values.html

One comment

  1. I enjoyed reading your post. It is very balanced. I like the way you remind us that it not always smooth sailing: sometimes being American makes us embarrassed. I like the way you remind us too that America functions to protect both the good and bad people in our society. We are blessed to have a country like America. It is not perfect, but all things considered; this is where I would rather live, and raise my kids.

    Like

Leave a Reply

