We The People

“I pledge allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America, and to the Republic for which it stands, one Nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.” Thank you and Francis Bellamy. Thank you for creating such a strong patriotic pledge for all Americans. To be American means to have the liberty, justice, and freedom to be diverse.

US-POLITICS-IMMIGRATION-OBAMA

In America I think that diversity makes us special, it makes us a Nation. We all come from different backgrounds and cultures in which we should all be proud of because that’s what makes each and every one of us a unique American. Being American is the honored sensations we feel when hear the national anthem. We should all take advantage of this feeling and live this feeling every day. After all our founding fathers, positive activists, and brave soldiers fought for our rights and freedom to be American. Being an American means freedom. We have the freedom of speech, the freedom of religion, the freedom of press. These freedoms are special or for better word rare.

I am proud to identify myself as not just an American but a Mexican- American. Embedded in me are my potent Mexican heritage roots and strapping American patriotism. I was born and raised in the United States. I have to thank my brave parents who came from Durango to America to raise me. Growing up I had the privilege to be educated by the “chancla” which taught me discipline. I had the privilege to be taught how to be bilingual, which taught me to contribute to this Nation as well as my heritage. As an American I have the freedom to speak both Spanish and English fluently. I had the privilege to free education which has helped me grown into a better educated American. America had opportunities for my parents and it has opportunities for you and I. I think that opportunities are what makes the land of the free very diverse. Together we are America. We are the Nation under God. We are the people.

wethepeople

Samad, Jewek. Audience takes the pledge of allegiance. Digital Image. Houston CBS Local. N.p., 09 May 2014. Web. 08 Apr. 2017.

“We The People.” Time. Special Issue. N.p.,06 July 1987. Web. 8 April, 2017.

One comment

  1. I enjoyed reading your blog, I can relate to your point of view since we have similar stories. Many people just like our parents leave their families behind to give us a better life. America has proven that it is the land of the free and the land of opportunities. We are contributing to the growth and diversity of this great country. I can totally relate to being educated with the “chancla”, it is just something very common in our culture. We all contribute to this country and I think this is what makes this such a great country to live in.

    Like

Leave a Reply

