My American Journey

6042478_f496

I am a first generation American and I am so proud to live in the great land of opportunities. My parents immigrated from the small town Cuauhtemoc in Chihuahua, Mexico in search to give their future family a greater life, and I am and always will be forever thankful. Despite being born in America I knew that I would always be a Mexican American because I would always have my hispanic heritage no matter where I am. Growing up I learned this lesson at a very young age. Spanish was my first and only language as a child, so naturally I dreaded the day I would have to begin school. I feared that all the other kids would laugh at me because I was unable to communicate with them. My first day of school is a day that I will always remember. That day I learned that living in America is such a wonderful thing because we have so much diversity of cultures and people. It’s inspiring that people here are so kind, you don’t have to have the fear of not fitting in. There is a place for everyone here in America.

4th-of-july-american-flag-country-photography-Favim.com-1983863

My whole life I have worked hard to accomplish “The American Dream” to make my parent’s sacrifices worth it, to someday become someone who my future kids and I can be proud of. Its so great to wake up everyday knowing that I live in America, the land that our founding fathers and past and present soldiers fight for everyday to give us our freedom and other privileges that other people only dream of having someday. My journey as a Mexican-American has not been an easy one, but I would not have wanted it any other way. I have learned many life lessons that I will carry with me for the rest of my life. Today, if anyone asks me if I am American I cant help but smile proudly and say Yes!

 

Picture 1: https://images.search.yahoo.com/search/images;_ylt=AwrBTzi8nOIYsBkAP49XNyoA;_ylu=X3oDMTB0n2Noc21IBGNvbG8DYmYxBHBvcwMxBHZ0aWQDBHNIYwNwaXZz?p=diversity+in+america&fr2=piv-web&fr=yset_widemail_chr_win#id=2&iurl=http%3A%2Fs3.hubimg.com%2Fu%2F6042478_f496.jpg&action=click4

Picture 2: https://images.search.yahoo.com/search/images;_ylt=AwrB8o8_nuIYNhwAL.eJzbkF;_ylu=X3oDMTBsZ29xY3ZzBHNIYwNzZWFyY2gEc2xrA2J1dHRvbg–;_ylc=X1MDOTYwNjl4NTcEX3IDMgRhY3RuA2NsawRiY2sDN2FqNWJnbGM2bWRIYyUyNmllM0Q0JTI2ZCUzRGx1RUp

 

4 comments

  1. Hello, I really enjoyed reading your post. Congratulations on being first American in your family. American is a place where one can make their dream come true and unfortunately sometimes those dreams can be limited or even harder to attain. However, nothing is ever easy especially when it comes to attaining that American dream. There are a lot of people that have an opportunity to make something of themselves but do not take the opportunity to do so and there are also those that are literally handed everything that they need to get their life together but never do anything with it. Then you have those that work for every penny that they receive. So many of us take our freedom for granted when we shouldn’t. A lot of my friends as well as family lay down their lives everyday for the freedom and safety of American citizens but we tend to forget that and even down right forget to help them while on the streets. I constantly see our veterans on the streets begging but never receive any assistance from the people they risked their freedom for. What ever happened to doing all that we can to assist our veterans? Why are we standing by and watching our veterans lose the dream that they fought for, their freedom.

    Like

  2. I enjoyed reading your post, it reminds me that there are so many other people living the same story I have. I really liked that you said, “There is a place for everyone in America”. For us, coming from another country makes us feel at first that we are not welcomed but soon realize this is not the case. This country has always fought for freedom and this allows so many people to come here in search of a better life. Being an American makes us proud to know that we are part of those people who fight to keep this the country the land of the free.

    Like

  3. This is wonderful. My parents had also immigrated to the United States as refugees and I became an automatic citizen as a child when my parents did. We lived a very hard and poor life back home because all the resources were taken away from us as a Baha’i. Something that thousands of people had to deal with who shared our faith. Being in a country where the government not only lets you practice your faith and let you be who you want to be, they also protect you from others who might still be ignorant and not understand human diversity. That is one thing that makes America great. That is what it means to be an American, to be part of this system. Just as you have said I also love my culture (not so much the government) and identify as both and like you if someone asks if I am an American I would have the same answer.

    Like

  4. I think at times those that are born here have to be reminded of how this country can be magical this includes myself. I am thankful for those that have paved the way to provide this sense of security. The only way make America a level playing field for everyone is to be to embrace and appreciate differences. I know it sounds like raw raw a unrealistic place but we have to have something to hold onto.

    Like

Leave a Reply

