Home of the Free

“We are one people, all of us pledging allegiance to the stars and stripes, all of us defending the United States of America.” Former President Barak Obama is talking about so much more than defending a piece of land, or a place you happened to be born. He is talking about unity within diversity, standing together to protect what America stands for and the core values instilled in each of us, by our founding fathers. Being American is about equality among all people, justice for all and freedom for all. There is no perfect society, but as long as we are constantly improving and keeping the common good of the people first priority, this is exactly where I want to be. To me being American is a common belief and acceptance on a statement written so long ago in the Declaration of Independence. “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their creator with certain unalienable rights that among these are life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness. This quote alone shows one of the many reasons I love America, Religious freedom. The founding fathers are not saying by God- they are not telling you what or who to believe in… They are saying “endowed by their creator” whatever you believe in. Not all countries give you that option- many wars have been fought over freedom of religion.

I have no idea if America is the best place to be in the world. I was born in the United States and have never traveled to any other country. To be quite honest, I have no desire to either. I see on the news and read websites like https://www.thrillist.com/travel/nation/the-7-countries-where-you-re-most-likely-to-get-kidnapped-for-ransom and I am scared to travel outside America.  As a mother it is a blessing to know my children are citizens and will be raised with opportunities and certain unalienable rights that other children are not as fortunate to be blessed with.  As a woman, I am created equal to man; I can make choices, and have every chance to make and live the American dream as my neighbor. As a woman I am proud to say I am an American.

 

Meltzer, Matt. “7 Countries Where You’re Most Likely to Get Kidnapped.” Thrillist. Thrillist, 03 Mar. 2015. Web. 06 Apr. 2017.

Leave a Reply

