Proud to be an American

I am proud to be an American. The sense of pride in my country is so strong because it started at such a young age.

young usa

(Young children are often dressed in patriotic colors for school theme days, the Forth of July, and parties)

In preschool, I remember saying the pledge of allegiance every day. Whoever said the pledge the ‘best’ would get the coveted American Flag pin and the title of ‘Proud American.’ At the time, the words we said were mainly just words we had been taught to recite each morning. However, as time progressed and I began to learn more about the history of America, the seemingly simple words, “I pledge allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America, and to the Republic for which it stands, one Nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all,” began to mean something more significant.

 

149304581sized

Being an “American” is so much more than simply being born in America. Americans are blessed to live in the land of the free because of the brave men and women who have fought to protect our country. Americans understand that the freedom we have was not truly free, it came at a high cost of American lives. As I have grown up and seen the way of life in other countries on the news or in the paper, I am constantly reminded of how blessed I am to be an American. I can worship freely, I can be educated, I can speak my mind, I can participate in the political process, and so much more. So many of the articles in our Constitution, specifically in our Bill of Rights, are sometimes taken for granted. In so many other places, people (especially women) are not able to experience these things. I simply cannot even imagine what it would be like not to have the basic rights we have today. As a true American, I believe that it is necessary to continue to teach United States history so that everyone can appreciate our rights that have been secured over the decades.

Because of my knowledge of past events, I have greater appreciation of my freedom as an American. I vow to be loyal to my country until the day I die. I truly am proud to call myself an American.

 

 

Works Cited:
“American Freedoms at Your Dinner Table.” OIC Moments. N.p., 21 Dec. 2014. Web. 08 Apr. 2017.

 

2 comments

  1. I too remember standing up everyday in school as a young child recting the pledge of allegence not knowing exactly what those words meant until I started learing more about our country further down the line in school. Now my oldest child who is 4 is learning the pledge of allegence in pre school and to hear her practice saying it makes me a proud father. To be able to speak freely, go to school, choose my religon, and so many other’s rights is what truly makes this country America. It’s the land of opporutnities but also the land where you can be just about anything you say and choose. That’s something I hope will be instilled on my children. I don’t want them to be afraid to be something they want to be out of fear they will be judge or cannot be what they wish. This country was built on inalienable right’s that cannot be taken nor bought from us. Your blog really reminded me on why I chose to serve this country for 4 years. To defend those right’s that were give to me.

    Like

  2. I too remember standing up everyday in school as a young child recting the pledge of allegence not knowing exactly what those words meant until I started learing more about our country further down the line in school. Now my oldest child who is 4 is learning the pledge of allegence in pre school and to hear her practice saying it makes me a proud father. To be able to speak freely, go to school, choose my religon, and so many other’s rights is what truly makes this country America. It’s the land of opporutnities but also the land where you can be just about anything you say and choose. That’s something I hope will be instilled on my children. I don’t want them to be afraid to be something they want to be out of fear they will be judge or cannot be what they wish. This country was built on inalienable right’s that cannot be taken nor bought from us. Your blog really reminded me on why I chose to serve this country for 4 years. To defend those right’s that were give to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

