American Dream

When I think about the American Dream, I think about the freedom that was won for us with all of the wars that we have fought, my ancestors who may have been slaves at some point but have allowed me to live in a place that I am not forced to do things that I don’t want to or that I might have been born into.

I do have to say that I am blessed to be living in a Country that allows me freedom and doesn’t judge me or put me in a category just because I am a woman. I am strong, independent and career driven. My mother was not allowed to work in her first marriage because he wanted to be the one that provided for the family and believed that the woman’s place was at home and in the kitchen. I feel that with my American Dream I am able to have a career, go to school to further my education, own a home and still be at the house and take care of things here.

Things have not always been the easiest for me to continue on my road to success for my American Dream, but I have managed to make it through all of them with determination and drive. I believe that the American Dream is whatever a person wants to achieve in their life, as well as part of their up bringing. No one can achieve the things they want to if they are being discouraged by the negative things that are amongst us in the world.

In the poem by L. Hughes “Let America Be America Again”, I feel like I can relate to the struggle that he was experiencing. I am Middle class and I do struggle to be able to make a name for myself. I have had to sacrifice my time, money I didn’t have and quality time with my family; because I was trying to maintain my place in the Nursing field and get all that needed to be done there done. There may have been some times I felt pulled by the two events, but I knew that I had to work to be able to care for my family, pay my bills and continue towards my journey for the American Dream.

I feel that all of the struggle and decisions I have made have gotten me a little closer to the Dream that I have for myself. I will not give up even if they environment or world wants to try and break me. I have my freedom from the men and women who fought for it, so I will not give in to the down times and not achieve all I know I can achieve.

3 comments

  1. it is amazing that the injustices felt by our ancestors were not passed down to us. we were so lucky to be born in the time that we are and we are all lucky that we didnt grow up in such a terrible time where slavery was not even thought of as doing anything wrong and it was just the way they lived their lives. it is amazing how far America has come in the battle for race inequality. The american dream is for anyone who believes that they have a fair shot at the perfect life.no life is perfect but it can be simplified by finding peace in the madness. staying calm during the fight. i hope that every american realizes their potential and never settles for anything less than everything they want to be.

    Like

  2. I love this post and your use of “MY american dream”. Through this blog I’ve been close-minded in my movie-type american dream like portrayed in “The Great Gatsby” and “Wolf of Wall Street” and other book/movies where trials and coming of age lead to vast wealth and the lavish lifestyle. Whereas in your interpretation of the prompt, the american dream is whatever you want to make it out to be. I think that’s awesome and is actually the defining factor of what makes that individual dream “american”. Land of the free, home of the brave. We fought for this freedom and still do every single day. It’s up to us to be brave with what we want to use that freedom to accomplish. Whether it is wealth or it is being able to protest for what we believe in or it is the ability to travel and see different parts of the country/globe or it is to be able to do what truly makes us happy in life. We have that ability and we have that dream. We still wake up every day going “what can I do to make my life better?”, rather than waking up going wow this sucks my life is miserable and there’s nothing I can do about it. We have that freedom to work our butts off and do something about it. I think that is the truest form of the american dream. Not so much the result of the dream or the subject matter of the dream, rather just the fact that whatever dream it may be, we have the ability to dream it and wake up the next day striving to reach it.

    Like

  3. I enjoyed reading your post about your interpretation of the American Dream. It’s true, we never know if we had ancestors that were slaves and might have experienced all of those horrific things they went through. We are definitely blessed to live in this present day time. We as women have so many more rights and freedom than our ancestors did and we can’t forget how we need to acknowledge that everyday and keep that as a mental tool to fight for the best for us and our children. I understand about the fact that your mom wasn’t allowed to work outside the home. My mom was the same way, and so I guess that trickled down to me and my way of thinking that I may not be smart enough or strong enough to do anything else. It is sad to think about how the unsaid things from your parents shape and form us to think and believe the things we do. I know now and I teach my children now that anything is possible if you put your mind to it and believe in yourself. With this great country we have and all the pain and suffering our ancestors went through we know that there is nothing standing in our way but ourselves to make the best life for ourselves.
    I am encouraged by your post to know that you have struggled but are persevering in your American Dream. It gives me strength and hope to know that I can and will make my way and a name for myself as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

